This morning, in my twitter feed, I saw Hack Library School‘s link to this article by Madeleine Mitchell: Congratulations! Now Get A Job. From that article, I decided that the following links are most useful to me, and may be to you as well:

NMRT Committees’ Job Hunting Resource Guide, in particular, the Job Hunting Bibliography.

LISjob.com’s Info Career Trends article by Patte Weathers-Parry, The Librarian’s Portfolio.

LISCareer.com’s article, Crafting a Winning Resume by Tiffany Eatman Allen.

I also lurked around the LIS Career Options Group on LinkedIn this morning, which led me to these gems:

Mr. Library Dude‘s blog section called Nailing the Library Interview, including 4 very useful subpages.

And, for fun, New Grad Life’s reprint of Nick Stuart’s article from Ricochet.com, 9 Reasons You Didn’t Get The Job.

Happy reading! And good luck.

About bittybookworm

Newly minted librarian seeking library, archive, or museum. I used to read college Psychology textbooks for fun in Junior High. I am that person at parties who is usually found hovering near the snacks, probably interacting more with the host's pets or children than with the host and other adult guests, and poring over their book and media collections to secretly gauge which items I may be interested in borrowing in future and which of my items would be appropriate to lend in return. In December 2012, I graduated from Florida State University with a Masters of Library and Information Studies degree, which may put that previous bunch of information into some sort of context.

8 responses »

  1. Know More says:

    Everyone loves it when folks come together and share views.
    Great blog, keep it up!

  2. Raymon says:

    Have you ever considered about including
    a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and all.
    But think about if you added some great visuals or videos
    to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is
    excellent but with images and video clips, this blog could certainly be one of the best in its niche.
    Great blog!

  3. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your post seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you
    know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the problem fixed soon.
    Cheers

    • Oh, weird! Thanks for letting me know. I’ll mess with some things and see if it makes any difference. I pretty much only use Firefox and it all shows up fine for me. Maybe has to do with size of the window? Hmmm…

  4. Randy Pena says:

    Nice writing style. I look forward to reading more in the future.

Leave a Reply

