SO. I finished my last paper on Sunday. It felt GOOD getting it over with. Nothing to do now but wait for grades! And, you know, get ready for the holidays. Feeling a bit Grinch-y, but I’m sure I’ll perk up once I’ve finished getting everyone presents. (I thought I’d feel less Grinch-y when I decorated the house, but apparently not. Maybe I just am a Grinch.)

The day after I finished with school work I heaved a great, big, happy sigh, laid back and… then thought “Now what?” Not having a specific something that I’m supposed to be reading or writing or researching or whatever else makes me antsy.  And sad. I don’t know why, but it makes me sad. So I guess I have to give myself homework. So far I’ve been catching up on TV shows I’ve missed (Supernatural, Eureka, Warehouse 13, Psych…) and not-too-seriously been looking for part-time jobs. Only “not-too-seriously” in the sense that so far the only remotely interesting things I’ve found are openings for a bunch of jobs I’m either not qualified for yet or that I’m over-qualified for. For example, no one gets a Bachelor’s in IT to be a receptionist at a salon and no one with a Bachelor’s in IT could be the Head Librarian overseeing all of the Children’s and Young Adult departments of all of the branches in a city. This morning a friend from undergrad was kind enough to let me know that his current job will be available when he gets a full time job elsewhere, so that’s something! *fingers crossed* I like that kid. (: Would’ve been happy to hear from him anyway.

In the meantime, I’ll spread the goofing off:  watch a lizard kill bugs on a cellphone. That thing is adorable.

P.S.: Job not got. Turned out the position was being changed, merged with another one, making it very ASP and programming intensive… SO not my type of thing. I would have loved to be in the Information Architecture side of the project, but they were already outsourcing that to another company. /: Oh well. The interview was nice anyway. Nice people.

About bittybookworm

Cataloging librarian seeking library, archive, or museum. I used to read college Psychology textbooks for fun in Junior High. I am that person at parties who is usually found hovering near the snacks, probably interacting more with the host's pets or children than with the host and other adult guests, and poring over their book and media collections to secretly gauge which items I may be interested in borrowing in future and which of my items would be appropriate to lend in return. In December 2012, I graduated from Florida State University with a Masters of Library and Information Studies degree, which may put that previous bunch of information into some sort of context.

Leave a Reply

