I got a job! Yay!

I will be working as a Copy Cataloger [staffing agency required that I sign a confidentiality agreement; can’t divulge the name of their client company… not even on resumes. Weird weird weird.] in Pensacola, FL. Had interview via phone yesterday at 3pm and at 5:45pm I was called and congratulated on landing the job. It’s part time, no benefits, and I’m only guaranteed a job until September, BUT it’s a start! Come September 30 there is supposedly some possibility that the position could become full time *fingers crossed*… or it could be eliminated altogether… but I’m not going to worry about that now! New job, new town, new possibilities! I’m excited!

Lots of positives going on here: The ladies who interviewed me seem super-nice and one of them, head of tech services, will be my direct supervisor. I get to use OCLC Connexion again (I’m not an expert, will need a little refresher, but it’s stuff I know!). Hopefully I get to use Cataloger’s Desktop again too. (I’ll have to ask about that next time I talk to the new boss.) Apparently, I will mostly be cataloging adult fiction and proofing library records for accuracy (the OCD will actually be an advantage!). I’ve been told that the library director is keen on everyone being cross-trained, so I’m excited about that too. I’ll have to become less shy and ask the collection development folks lots of questions.

Now, however, I have to move to Pensacola ASAP. Apartment hunting and packing will be happening simultaneously (2 things I hate with a burning passion) and I will do my best to stay sane despite that whole process. I hope to be starting June 24 (or earlier if at all possible).

I’ll still be applying for other library jobs in the hopes that I’ll have something when September rolls around, just in case  my job ends up being eliminated. And I’ll still be tweaking my resume, so updates and posts and things here will continue in their usual, sporadic fashion. (:

As always, I wish my fellow library job hunters lots of luck.

About bittybookworm

Cataloging librarian seeking library, archive, or museum. I used to read college Psychology textbooks for fun in Junior High. I am that person at parties who is usually found hovering near the snacks, probably interacting more with the host's pets or children than with the host and other adult guests, and poring over their book and media collections to secretly gauge which items I may be interested in borrowing in future and which of my items would be appropriate to lend in return. In December 2012, I graduated from Florida State University with a Masters of Library and Information Studies degree, which may put that previous bunch of information into some sort of context.

Leave a Reply

